January in Review

So the first month of my year of making art has passed and how has it gone?  It is not pretty, but I did manage to nearly complete two sketchbooks.  At the beginning of the month I was still into doing the gouache paintings in my midtone sketchbook, then I started doing some comics, and about halfway into January I began to learn how to draw faces.  Here is the “best of” January.

DSC_0007-9

DSC_0008-12

I had this plan of doing the entire alphabet in little gouache paintings but stopped at C

DSC_0009-9

DSC_0011-11

Knitting features a lot in my comics since is and has been such a big part of my life.

DSC_0012-8

DSC_0014-11

I have a lot of pages devoted to weird looking disembodied eyes and mouths and noses.

DSC_0019-3

DSC_0015-10

DSC_0016-7

I loved going on Instagram and find fun faces to try and draw.

DSC_0022-4

DSC_0024-2

Practicing doing faces from my own mind always ends up in a comic book style.

DSC_0025-2

Some famous faces in here, can you name any?

Leave a Reply

