Cass Art Haul!

DSC_0002-12-2

Maybe even more addictive than doing art is buying art supplies.  I must admit to having more materials than I could possibly justify buying, including quite a few Moleskine sketchbooks I nabbed on sale.  However, when we were in Bristol the other day I couldn’t pass up the opportunity to stop in Cass Art, a good art store with great prices.  My biggest criticism is that the selection is very limited.  In watercolours your only choice is either Winsor Newton Cotmans or Professional paints, but you can’t beat the price and there is almost always some sort of offer going on.

DSC_0004-8-2Have I already mentioned I have a sketchbook collection?  These Derwent Cachet (Cass Art Cachet on the site) are brilliant with 80 pages of 90gsm paper.  They open flat, can take any fineliner or brush pen without bleeding.  Even Copic markers only bleed through the back of the page that you used them on, and it’ll take a very light watercolour wash.  At £2 for the small Moleskine size and £3 A5 size I’m amazed I didn’t buy a dozen.

DSC_0006-10-2I’m very happy with the price and quality of this watercolour paper.  Cold pressed 300gsm paper can be expensive to buy, but this was only £17.50 and should last me a while.  I also picked up some masking fluid and another paper of fineliners.  These are Derwent Graphik fineliners in the sizes I use most: .1, .3, and .5mm.  To be honest I probably bought it because of the cute case.

DSC_0003-8-2

And finally I bought some watercolours.  I have heard great things about quinacridone pigments and was really keen to try Quinacridone Gold (W&N Professional).  It is my perfect warm yellow – golden brown.  Not heavy and opaque like cadmium yellow or yellow ochre.  I also picked up Alizarin Crimson Hue and Paynes Grey (Cotman).  I don’t think they are very lightfast but I wanted some more transparent colours.

I’m hoping this will keep me going for a while because I am declaring March a No Buy Month to make up for my spending.

9 thoughts on “Cass Art Haul!

  1. The alizarin crimson hue and especially the payne’s grey should be fine for lightfastness. Actually, in the Cotman line, the crimson is made with PR206 which is a quinacridone pigment, and one of the three pigments used to make W&N’s quin gold. Genuine quin gold is PO49, but that stopped being made years ago and now as far as I know only one brand (Daniel Smith) still has any left to make paint with.

    Drawing a firm line on supply purchases is definitely something I’d recommend, since otherwise there’d be no end to the spending. With one cheap exception I’ve been on a no buy “month” since last august. 🙂

    Like

  2. Thanks for the info! I’ve only just started reading more about pigments and their properties and this is really helpful. Interesting to hear that the Cotman range uses some decent ones since people usually discourage using “student” grade paints. I’ve been pretty pleased with them myself. Also those St. Petersburg “White Nights” use a lot of good quality single pigments. Amazing quality for the price.

    And fantastic job on keeping clean since August! I get the jitters just thinking about it 😉

    Like

  3. You’re doing yourself a favor by learning pigments. From what I’ve seen even some professional artists have little knowledge of them, but that’s changing. If you don’t know about it, Handprint is getting a little dated since the tests were done over 10 years ago, but it’s still the best source of information on the pigments used in artist grade watercolors. As you may see from comparison tests there and on other sites, not every source of a particular pigment will be as reliable as each other (such as with Prussian blue), and not every variation within the same pigment number will be as lightfast, but there’s a few pigments that are pretty much bulletproof. At least they should be, I’ve seen a few tests done by others that had unexpected fading from pigments that really shouldn’t have. Actually, Handprint’s tests of White Nights paint (in the brand comparison section) was so unimpressed with them that they weren’t even included in the published comparisons of each paint, so I’d be wary of those. In all, I’d say that unless you’re selling your work as originals then worry less and paint more. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

