An Early Morning Start and New Challenge

I love it when I wake up early and get some painting done before the family wakes up.  I always seem to do better work and it’s a good way to set up my day.  Yesterday I managed to do two paintings in the morning.

DSC_0021-4

Lesser Spotted Woodpecker

DSC_0022-5

Snowdrops.  Painting white flowers is no easy task, I figured by creating a dark background the effect of the white would be more dramatic, even with the petals in shadow.  I look forward to learning more about botanical illustration in the future.

I also went out for a short sketching session in the afternoon.  I meant to go down to the village to draw some of the old cottages, but got distracted by the early flowers along the way.

DSC_0023-4

This camelia was in full bloom in a neighbour’s garden.  In real life it was a shocking vivid hot pink that quinacridone rose couldn’t even capture.  I did the outline in watercolour pencil and coloured it in with my St. Petersburg palette.  I wanted to use watercolour pencil for the details but didn’t like the look of it after a few petals.  I lifted it off with my brush and afterwards and just suggested the veins with the brush.

Speaking of flowers today marks the start of my next challenge “Garden Month”.  I have a beautiful (but neglected) garden but don’t go out to enjoy it nearly as much in winter.   Spring is such precious season that I want to enjoy it as much as I can.  I hope to get some gardening and sketching done by spending a bit of time everyday out in it (rain or shine).

Do you have a personal challenge for March?  I’d love to hear about it.

L

4 thoughts on “An Early Morning Start and New Challenge

Leave a Reply

