Flowers, Pheasants and Fields

The first day of my Garden challenge went well, it always helps when there’s a bit of warm weather and sunshine.  Along with a lot of gardening I made a lot of attempts at capturing some of the flowers that are open in the garden this time of year.  My favourite are Hellebores, they are so elegant.

DSC_0002-13

But however many times I tried I just never could paint them in a way that I liked.  Finally I decided to try drawing with liquid watercolour and brush and came up with a simpler illustration.

DSC_0004-8

This morning I did some very quick gesture sketches of a pheasant visiting the garden.

DSC_0006-10

And a quick attempt of the view from our kitchen towards the hills.  There was a touch of snow up on the fields in Exmoor.  Wish I had worked the colours a bit better but overall fairly pleased with the composition.

DSC_0005-11

I want to take a local class on watercolour landscapes in April but hope to improve a little on my own before then.

One thought on “Flowers, Pheasants and Fields

Leave a Reply

