Flowers and Food

About a week ago I took a branch of flower quince inside to force it to blossom early.   Almost like a cut flower but with tree branches.  It’s a great way to bring some spring inside and the children enjoyed watching the buds grow and bloom.  I’m wishing I hadn’t worked this one as much, it feels a bit dull and muddy to me.  (the shine is because I am incredibly impatient, another thing that works against me!)

2015-03-05 08.58.47

I have recently bought a new fountain pen (more on that in a future post) to draw with.  It’s taken some time getting used to it, but am falling in love with its lines.  Here’s a drawing I did of my dinner last night.

2015-03-05 19.40.09

They make my drawings feel a bit more lively (probably just an illusion).  Here is the same coloured in.  Maybe you’ll get a better idea of what I actually ate.

2015-03-05 20.01.20

One of my favourite Korean dishes, sticky rice with bulgogi, kimchi, and broccoli.  The bowl is a pot my husband made a few years back with a bright teal glaze inside.  Working on keeping my colours “juicy” and fresh and trying not to overwork it.

3 thoughts on “Flowers and Food

  1. OMG, I love that Korean dish work!!! Excellent. With the forced tree branch, genius – I never tried to do that with a tree branch, only bulbs. I think your branch and leaves are extremely successful and would have like to see you lay down another layer of color onto the petals, actually, to make them come a live more (sort of like another coat of glaze). Great job!

    Like

  2. I would definitely have made short of work of that kimchi/broccoli number! It’s the sort of drawing that makes me imagine the glorious sound of chopsticks on glaze, distributing and collecting that sticky rice…. I’m off to raid the fridge…

    Like

Leave a Reply

