Perspective Practice and The Urban Sketcher

Yesterday afternoon I managed to get in a short sketch of our little village shop.  Places like this are becoming rarer and rarer as people tend to go to large supermarkets for shopping, but ours is a huge part of the local community.  It has recently celebrated its 20th anniversary and sells all sorts from local milk and eggs to everything a corner shop would stock (minus the booze and cigs).

2015-03-10 13.28.56

As I was drawing the shop that car rolled up and parked right in front of my view.  I just sketched it in as I saw it.  I’ve never drawn any cars before and was rather pleased at how it turned out.  What I was disappointed with was how off the perspective is on the shop.  I tried drawing some guidelines in pencil before going in with ink but was confused about the process.

That’s where my acquisition The Urban Sketcher by Marc Taro Holmes comes in.  It came yesterday and I have read it cover to cover absolutely riveted.  What I love is how he explains every step of the process from measuring and sighting, making the guidelines, inking and watercolour.  So many fabulous tips.  Of course the fact that Marc’s style is simply amazing and inspirational helps.  But he also points out mistakes he makes and how he corrects it.  Definitely the best resource I have at the moment for urban sketching or drawing in general.

This afternoon I did a bit of practice with sighting and measuring on some garden pots I have on our deck.  I used a lot of angles and measurements so my pencil drawing got extremely messy.  I’m sure it’ll get better with practice.  The ellipses were so hard, I’d draw one and then draw another and then notice the problems with the first and so on.

2015-03-11 15.32.28

Overall I’m pleased with the proportions and perspective, but it’s something I’ll have to work on a lot before it becomes more comfortable for me.  One thing I struggled with was getting my hatching even.  I kept going with my pen but it was giving me a really weak line.  I had only bought this pen, is it broken already?  No!  I opened it up and found it was almost out of ink, problem solved.

4 thoughts on “Perspective Practice and The Urban Sketcher

  1. Me too! We’re more or less as rural as you can get in such a populated country, but what I love about the book is that the principles can be applied to almost anything, including landscapes.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Embrace the wonkiness, it is what makes the drawings real. I thought your shop was great and congratulations on the car, I chickened out the first time I had to draw one, so full marks for trying and I think succeeding. Karen

    Like

Leave a Reply

