Experimenting with Watercolour Techniques

The last couple of days I’ve been playing with the watercolours some more.  I had this idea to paint a card for my mother-in-law for Mother’s Day, so I practiced doing some using different techniques.

2015-03-12 08.48.03

Here is a peony using almost entirely dry-on-dry techniques which gives these crisp edges and a stylised look to the flower.  I liked the process but think my rendition is a bit heavy handed, particularly in those shadows and somewhere along the line I lost the sense of form.

2015-03-12 14.02.11

Here’s another done almost entirely in wet-in-wet.  I applied the darkest colour in the petal first and used clean water to pull the colour up gently to soften the edge.  I dotted some warm colours here and there too.  When it was dry I added a few shadows.  I love how this one turned out, but bungled it up with a really primitive leaf.  It makes me want to try more wet techniques.

In the end I didn’t do a card, I spent a long time trying different flowers and techniques but just didn’t feel confident in any one design.  I found the lettering daunting too.  It showed me that I’m not quite ready to share my art more openly in a piece like that, though I’d one day love to send art to my family and friends and even have one of my own works up on the wall.

I went back and did a very small landscape of our view in my sketchbook.  The hills were very damp and misty so I let the edges blend a bit and added some splatter for texture.

2015-03-13 08.40.31

3 thoughts on “Experimenting with Watercolour Techniques

  1. Nicola says:

    I agree the wet in wet flower is the most pleasing. Really like the landscape – you get a good sense of the damp atmosphere!

    Like

Leave a Reply

