Daffodils Three Ways

Nothing says spring to me like daffodils and I’m so lucky to be surrounded by hundreds in our garden.  Flowers always are an inspiration to me, their colours, shapes and scents are simply intoxicating.

2015-03-26 15.34.03

Here’s me trying to break one down to its simplest form in straight up watercolour.

2015-03-26 17.39.16

And a more intricate line drawing of some in a bunch my little children picked for me.

2015-03-26 20.16.31-1

And the same with a bit of colour added.  The last one is my favourite.  I pulled out my set of Ph. Martins Liquid Watercolours, they add instant punch to a painting.  I lost a few highlights here and there so I added some with white acrylic ink.  It took on a slight yellow tint but I think it looks fitting here.  The white ones were difficult to do, shadows in white or yellow are always challenging for me.

Do flowers, or nature, inspire you too?  Hope you are all starting to see first signs of spring wherever you are.

16 thoughts on “Daffodils Three Ways

  1. Dang, this a fantastic post! Love seeing them all….they are beautiful in their own right. Your line work and proportions are really nice. White flowers, white anything is so tough cause you have to use every color in the rainbow except white. You are making me really want to see about those Ph. Martins!!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dreaming to Create says:

    These are great. The first picture captured my attention on the reader which encouraged me to read more and I love the first one. As I scrolled down the pictures kept get better and better. I love daffodils as well! Definitely one of the best things about spring.

    Like

Leave a Reply

