Dreaming of Summer Flowers

This weekend has been all about flowers and gardening, on saturday our little village had its Spring Flower Show.  That sounds a lot grander than it was, which was essentially a few stems of daffodils and other spring flowers scattered around an incredibly crowded village hall.  I was particularly taken by the delicate long petals of the magnolias.

2015-03-28 19.47.12

I did the sketch while I was there, and wanted to do more but I was being jostled by traffic and didn’t have a place to sit.

2015-03-29 22.01.35

Some of the buds of the silver willows have started to open.  Don’t you just love those fuzzy flowers?

2015-03-29 22.36.20

I was flipping through one of my gardening books when I came across some photos of beautiful opium poppies.  They seem like such a long way away now, but I enjoy dreaming of these summer flowers.

2015-03-29 23.18.03And of course I couldn’t resist adding a bit of colour to them.

My plan this year is to fill my garden beds with lots of flowers for cutting (and plenty for bees and butterflies too).  I don’t often buy flowers from the shop but find so much satisfaction going around the garden cutting my own.  I am only a beginner but I hope I can get at least a few things growing this year.

18 thoughts on “Dreaming of Summer Flowers

  1. wonderful sketches! I think it is great that you were sketching right at the flower show, I am trying to get stronger at drawing in public. Good luck with the gardening…it is right around the corner(at least my corner of the world…seed packets are coming out.)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you so much! I often don’t have a lot of time to sketch (particularly if I have the children with me) so learning to stand and sketch was helpful 😉

    Like

  3. It’s always so hard for me to start drawing in a public place, but once I get the first mark down I get totally absorbed and don’t even notice what’s going on, hopefully it’ll get even easier with practice.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

