Following Rules and Being Kind to Yourself

Unfortunately I don’t have any sketches to share with you today because the last few days I have been completely wiped out.  I don’t get poorly often, maybe an occasional cold but something has totally sapped all of my energy.  Other than doing what was absolutely necessary I spent the last two days sleeping.

I spent a lot of time beating myself up about “failing” my art everyday challenge, but then thought, if this happened to anyone else what would I say?  “Take care of yourself”, “Get better soon” and “Don’t worry about the challenge, it’ll still be there”.  Sometimes we feel like we have to stick to the rules no matter what, or we’ll be failures, but that’s exactly what kept me from doing any art years ago and I don’t want to think like that anymore.  What’s probably more upsetting is that I felt like I was finally getting to where I wanted to be right before this virus or sickness hit me.

I did do a sketch today, though it’s not any good and it was a real struggle.  So I’m going to try and take care of myself, to get better, and get back on that horse as soon as I can.  I’ll allow myself these sick days, even if it means taking time off until after Easter.  I thank you all for your continued support in following my blog and art, and hope you know too that following rules on your personal project isn’t what makes or breaks you as an artist.

17 thoughts on “Following Rules and Being Kind to Yourself

  1. Rules bye bye!!! Art is about freedom. Sick is sick, nothing you can do about it; therefore, no blame to be placed! Your artwork is beautiful. Your pencils and paintbrushes will be ready when you are. Take care and sleep deep. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I so agree! I like to challenge myself, but I feel like I’m losing sight of what art truly is if I’m trying to force something and then feeling guilty if I fail. I hope you get to feeling better soon! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I am glad. I am sketching “darK’ and way too complicated right now. It’s funny, I sketch different ways with different papers. Right now, I have a Moleskin. We fight over everything.

    Like

  4. quirkyartist says:

    Do you read Roz Stendahl’s blog? There are some good posts there about the rules we make for ourselves. Also some good ones about fear of white paper. As Cathy Johnston says, they’re making more as we speak.

    Like

Leave a Reply

