Dandelion Three Ways

Today I had a bit of time to do some sketching in a playing field while my children were at the playground.  Of course this time of year it is filled with dandelions, they might be a menace but I still find them charming.

2015-04-20 15.37.03

Here is the spread of dandelions I did in different ways.  As I gain confidence with this art thing I like to play around with the style of a single subject.

2015-04-20 11.25.30-1

I always love pen and ink, something about the bold line of the pen always seems to feel right to me.  I also get to splash on the colour very loosely this way.

2015-04-20 11.33.30-1

This was done directly to watercolour, no pencil or anything underneath.  I tried to use the strokes and values to indicate the shadows and petals.  While I like it, it seems to lack a bit of impact for me.

The final one (seen in my original shot of the spread) is where I used a darker watercolour outline in a similar way to my penwork.  I was looking for a more graphic look without the pen.  I did end up muddying it up a little, but maybe I’m getting somewhere with that idea.  I was using a waterbrush so the marks ended up pretty thick.  I also did some very loose watercolour dandelions but they just don’t read like the flower to me.

In the end I’m still not sure which one I like best, pen and ink or the one with watercoloured outlines?  I’ll keep experimenting.  Do you have a particular “style” that you tend to stick to?  Or do you like to play around?

11 thoughts on “Dandelion Three Ways

  1. I think they are all good, the ink and color on the left is the strongest graphically, but I think the watercolor on the upper right is also very good, very strong, maybe just punch the darks a bit darker, for more impact. Nice study overall!!!

    Like

  2. So cute! I’m trying the ink & watercolor combo lately too but never know which I like best. Sometimes the ink on watercolor photographs a little better but the yellow watercolor has such a nice soft feeling especially in person! Glad to see your work:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

