Make a Splash 18-20

Hot on the heels of some pieces I really liked of course are ones that I don’t think are nearly so good, but they all count towards the 50 paintings.

2015-05-06 09.08.26

#18 Red Clover.  This was an experiment in making a dark background.  I actually like the effect but just need to refine the edges so I get a crisper image.  It’s a bit nervewracking because you need to work fairly quickly with watercolour but painting around all those details is painstaking work.

2015-05-06 21.39.05

#19 Moth and Honeysuckle.  Simple image I did late at night when I was feeling rather tired.

2015-05-07 08.05.33

#20 Morning Coffee.  Oh man, do you ever have one of those pieces where you have a good idea but fail on the execution?  Yeah, that.  I ended up cropping a huge part of this painting out because the perspective of the croissant was really weird and somehow I managed to smear a huge part of the cafetiere.  The saucer is a weird dark colour too and I couldn’t decide whether or not to do shadows.  I could go on and on, but the plus side is I still like the idea and wish I really had teacups with Russian dolls.

Still going to push through the pain and get some more done.  Have you ever had a real painting disaster?  If you had I’m hoping you didn’t have to post it for the sake of a challenge.

7 thoughts on “Make a Splash 18-20

  1. The ways of watercolor….and painting a background…quickly, with detail….it is a bit tricky, stressful! Stinks when a smudge or spill happens….I love the tea cup! The colors are great…and the croissant is great too…even just a portion of it! Perspective is such a hard thing to master

    Like

  2. I really like the effect created by the dark background on the clover. I only noticed the wibbliness of the lines when you pointed it out in your critique…If it helps, all of my paintings are disasters!

    Like

Leave a Reply

