Urban Sketching Pirate Ships

Yesterday I took the children to a very small local zoo.  It doesn’t have much to boast in terms of animals but it does have a fantastic full sized pirate ship to play on surrounded by sand.  This gave me the rare opportunity to do some urban sketching while my children happily played.

2015-07-30 13.00.07 2015-07-30 14.11.14

The pirate ship was a huge challenge in perspective.  I was sitting fairly close to it from two different angles and it was hard to make it look convincingly three dimensional.  There were a lot of decorative details on the ship that I didn’t have time to include.  I used my Lamy Safari F nib and Pentel brush pen for the shadows.

2015-07-30 12.59.01

This morning I sketched this old bike near the village shop.  I don’t often draw mechanical things but this was a pleasant challenge.  And my husband even could recognise the model so I consider it a success.

2 thoughts on “Urban Sketching Pirate Ships

Leave a Reply

